csslasas.blogg.se

Song that goes dona dona
Song that goes dona dona






As you're saying it, I can see them all in Dona Flor, especially the neorealism and the slower pace of John Ford.īARRETO: Yeah. And I even dedicated one of my films, Bossanova , to Truffaut. Pietro Germi in my opinion was a genius, you know?Īnd of course, then the nouvelle vague with Francois Truffaut. Seduced and Abandoned, Il Ferroviere-I forget what the title in English is- Divorce, Italian Style. A Face in the Crowd, On the Waterfront- such a masterpiece.Īnd then the Italian neorealism. Almost all films by Pietro Germi. But I was completely drawn into it, you know? I was emotionally engaged.Īnd of course, you know, East of Eden, Splendor in the Grass, most of Elia Kazan's movies. It kept me interested, but it wasn't fast-paced. At the same time, the poetry the shots, the depth of field, the heavy clouds, the cinematography, the pace. My Darling Clementine, John Ford's masterpiece, was something that really made a huge impact on me.īARRETO: I mean, the story itself. The realism. RICO GAGLIANO: Tell me about the first film you remember having an impact on you, andīRUNO BARRETO: Well, I was very impressed always by American cinema.

song that goes dona dona

To listen to the episode and subscribe on your preferred podcast app, click here. Barreto goes beyond the conversation featured in episode 3 and discusses his love for John Ford, Pietro Germi and Francois Truffaut and shares more behind-the-scenes details about the making of Dona Flor.

song that goes dona dona

The MUBI Podcast returns with a look at Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands, a film that nearly beat Jaws at the Brazilian box office and turned Sonia Braga from national star to national deity.īelow, host Rico Gagliano interviews the film’s director Bruno Barreto.








Song that goes dona dona